Find Laws Find Lawyers Free Legal Forms USA State Laws
Home » Legal News » Judge Questions New Employment Law

Judge Questions New Employment Law

October 27, 2011 02:58pm  
Judge Questions New Employment Law
Tallahassee—A circuit judge harshly questioned fundamental elements of Florida’s decision to force state workers to pay 3 percent of their annual salaries for retirement costs, raising the prospect that the new law could be deemed unconstitutional. 

Jackie Fulford, the Leon County Circuit Judge presiding over the case, left her seat on the bench this week to closely examine a courtroom chart depicting how worker’s retirement benefits would be affected by the implementation of a new law that would require public employees to contribute a portion of their pay to the state’s pension plan. 

The law, which affects teachers, state workers and county employees, would also end a cost-of-living adjustment for future retirees. 

Lawyers for the state of Florida defended the law—which potentially could save the state and its local governments more than 1 billion dollars—as the government’s right to manage the state’s finances by altering prospective pension benefits for public employees. Governor Rick Scott, who pushed for a 5% contribution, signed the bill into law earlier this year. 

Judge Fulford questions whether the law, by requiring current state workers to pay percent of their salary to the fund, violates the “contract” between the state workers and their employers. Fulford has given no indication when she would render a decision on the case. 

Comments

Must Read

Kentucky Labor Laws Breaks Kentucky Labor Laws Breaks
  Guide to Kentucky Labor Laws About Breaks If you are a worker in the state of Kentucky, you are protected by several different KY labor laws about breaks.
Massachusetts Labor Laws Breaks Massachusetts Labor Laws Breaks
  What are the Massachusetts Labor Laws Breaks? According to Massachusetts labor laws breaks, workers must be allowed a paid rest period—from their employer—of at least 10 minutes for each 4-hour shift worked.
Michigan Labor Laws Breaks Michigan Labor Laws Breaks
  Quick Guide to Michigan Laws and Breaks Michigan Labor Laws: Breaks In the state of Michigan, labor law for breaks specifies that employers are not obligated to give their employees a lunch or break unless they are under the age of 18.
Washington Labor Laws Breaks Washington Labor Laws Breaks
  What are the Washington Labor Laws Breaks? According to Washington labor laws breaks, workers must be allowed a paid rest period—from their employer—of at least 10 minutes for each 4-hour shift worked.
Know The Legal Age Of A Cashier Know The Legal Age Of A Cashier
The legal age to secure employment as a cashier in the U.
Tips